The 2 km long, up to 500 m wide island of an area of
96.5 hectares in the centre of town, between Margit and Árpád Bridges is a
treasure of Budapest and its most beautiful park.
Already inhabited in the Roman times, the island had churches and cloisters in the Middle Ages.
The island is named after a daughter of King Béla IV who lived here as a nun. Medicinal spring was found in the second half of the 19th c., which gave rise to taking the waters. An arm was added to Margit Bridge in 1900, which made access by road possible. Major sights: ruins of a Franciscan church, ruins of a Dominican church and cloister, St. Michael Church, water tower, Artists' Promenade, rock garden, rose garden, music fountain, Palatinus Swimming pool, Hajós Alfréd Sports Swimming Pool, Athletic Center, mini-zoo, open-air stage.
Bicycles can be rented, and a peculiar vehicle the bike carriage (sedate pedal-car),which makes getting around the island a truly memorable experience.
Open: free admission all year round. Access by car from the Árpád bridge as far as the car park.
Cars are prohibited on the island.